Rise 360: 7 Ways to Reuse Your Content

Article Last Updated

This article applies to:

Creating amazing content is easy to do in Rise 360, but what if you want to use it somewhere else? You could copy the content, insert a block, then paste and reformat the content. But that’s a laborious manual process. It’s also completely unnecessary! We’ve built a bunch of great ways to use your content over and over again without having to copy and paste. 

  1. Creating Block Templates
  2. Duplicating Blocks
  3. Duplicating Lessons
  4. Copying Lessons Across Courses
  5. Duplicating Courses
  6. Inserting Prebuilt Content
  7. Sending a Copy to Another Author

1. Creating Block Templates

Block templates are exactly what they sound like. You save existing blocks and their content as a reusable template to insert into other lessons. You can even share them with your team. It takes a little more effort than a simple copy/paste, but the tradeoff—getting a reusable chunk of pre-formatted content that everyone can use—is worth it. Here’s how to create one:

  1. Open a Rise 360 course, then edit the lesson you want to save as a block template. Or, create a new lesson and add the blocks you want to include in the block template.
  2. Click All Blocks on the blocks shortcut bar or the insert block icon (+) that appears when you mouse-over a boundary between blocks.
  3. Select the Block Templates category in the sidebar, then click New Block Template in the panel that appears.
  4. The sidebar closes and a checkmark floats over each block in your lesson. Click the checkmark for each block you want to include in the block template you’re creating. If you select the wrong block, just click it again to uncheck it.
  5. After selecting all the blocks you want to include in your block template, click Save on the toolbar at the top of the page.
  6. Enter a name for your block template (up to 42 characters). If you don’t want to share this block template with your team, deselect Share with Team. Click Save to complete the process.

For information on how to manage your block templates, share them with your team, and more, click here.  

2. Duplicating Blocks

Duplicating a block is great if you want to immediately reuse it in the current lesson. To quickly duplicate a block, hover over the toolbar on the right-hand side of the block, and click the Duplicate icon. 


The duplicated block is inserted immediately after your current block. 

If, instead of using it in the current lesson, you want to use the block in another lesson or course, then create a block template as detailed in the previous section. 

3. Duplicating Lessons

Duplicating a lesson is perfect when you need a similar structure for another lesson in your current course and plan to swap out the content. It’s also super easy to do. 

  1. Navigate to your course outline. 
  2. Hover over the lesson and click the ellipsis icon (•••) that appears.
  3. Select Duplicate.

That’s it! The duplicated lesson is inserted below the original lesson in your course outline. 

4. Copying Lessons Across Courses

If you want to use an existing lesson in another course, you can do that too! 

  1. In the course outline, hover over the lesson you want to copy, click the ellipsis icon (•••) that appears, and choose Copy to Another Course.
  2. When the course selector appears, click the course to which you want to copy the lesson.
  3. You'll see a confirmation message in the lower-left corner stating that the lesson was successfully copied. Click the View button to jump directly to the course where the lesson was copied.

The copied lesson appears at the bottom of the outline in the new course. You can change the order by dragging the lesson to another location in the outline. Keep in mind that you can only copy a lesson to an existing course. 

5. Duplicating Courses

You can quickly create copies of entire courses with the duplicate function available on your dashboard

  1. Hover over the card of the course you want to duplicate and click the ellipsis icon (•••) that appears. 
  2. Choose Duplicate to create a new course with the same layout or similar content. 
  3. Enter a name for the new course and click Duplicate
  4. The new course appears at the top of your dashboard. 

Keep in mind, some collaborators won’t see the ellipsis menu on course cards. Only course owners and course managers can duplicate courses. 

6. Inserting Prebuilt Content

With templates, you create courses using our carefully researched content as the base. Then you can customize them, adding your own original content. 

Start by clicking the New Course button in the upper left of your create dashboard. Then select Templates to start with placeholder content.

Templates are fully customizable so that you can edit them and make them your own. 

7. Sending a Copy to Another Author

If you want to send an entire, independent copy of a course to another author, a company template for example, it’s easy to do. 

  1. Go to your Rise 360 dashboard, click the ellipsis icon (•••) for the course you want to share, then choose Send a copy from the menu that appears.
  2. Enter the email addresses of the Rise 360 users who should receive the course (separated by commas), change the default message if you'd like, and click Send.

That's it! The recipients will receive email notifications, and the course will automatically appear on their Rise 360 dashboards. Recipients can then duplicate the course each time they’re ready to start a new project (that way they keep the original template intact).

It’s important to keep in mind that you'll each have an independent copy of the same project. Any changes you make to the course won't appear in the other authors' versions, and vice versa. Even if another author sends a copy of the course back to you later, a new course is added to your Rise 360 dashboard. You'll have the original version and an updated copy.

If you’re planning on changing the course (or you want to see changes others make to it), you might want to try collaborative authoring instead