Rise 360: Creating, Sharing, and Reusing Block Templates

Article Last Updated

This article applies to:

Build Rise 360 courses faster by saving existing blocks and their content as block templates, then reusing those block templates in other lessons. And if you have an Articulate 360 Teams subscription, you can share block templates with your team.

Watch this video demonstration, then check out the details below.

Creating Block Templates

  1. Open a Rise 360 course and edit the lesson you want to save as a block template. Or, create a new lesson and add the blocks you want to include in the block template.
  2. Open the sidebar by clicking All Blocks in the blocks shortcut bar or using the insert block icon that appears when you mouse-over a boundary between blocks.
  3. Select the Block Templates category from the block library, then click New Block Template in the panel that appears.
  4. The sidebar will close and a checkmark will float over each block in your lesson. Click the checkmark for each block you want to include in the block template you’re creating. If you select the wrong block, just click it again to uncheck it.
  5. After selecting all the blocks you want to include in your block template, click Save on the toolbar at the top of the page.
  6. Enter a name for your block template (up to 42 characters). And if you have an Articulate 360 Teams subscription and want to share this block template with your team, mark the Share with team box. Then click Save to complete the process.

Sharing Block Templates

If you have an Articulate 360 Teams subscription, you can share block templates with your team. (You can’t share block templates with other teams, but you can send a copy of a course to other Rise 360 authors.)

Share a New Block Template

You can share a block template when you create it. Just mark the Share with team box when you name the block template as described above.

Share an Existing Block Template

You can also share block templates you previously created. Here’s how:

  1. Open a Rise 360 course, then edit an existing lesson or create a new one. You can choose any lesson since you won’t make changes to the lesson itself.
  2. Open the sidebar by clicking All Blocks in the blocks shortcut bar or using the insert block icon that appears when you mouse-over a boundary between blocks.
  3. Select the Block Templates category in the sidebar, then hover over the block template you want to share and click the pencil icon that appears. (You can only share block templates you created. You won’t see a pencil icon for block templates created by other team members.)
  4. Mark the Share with team box, then click Done.

Renaming Block Templates

Need to rename an existing block template? It’s easy for you or course managers to do.

  1. Open a Rise 360 course, then edit an existing lesson or create a new one. You can choose any lesson since you won’t make changes to the lesson itself.
  2. Open the sidebar by clicking All Blocks in the blocks shortcut bar or using the insert block icon that appears when you mouse-over a boundary between blocks.
  3. Select the Block Templates category in the sidebar, then hover over the block template you want to rename and click the pencil icon that appears. (You can only rename block templates you created. You won’t see a pencil icon for block templates created by other team members.)
  4. Enter a new name for your block template, then click Done.

Deleting Block Templates

You or a course manager can delete block templates you created. Here’s how:

  1. Open a Rise 360 course, then edit an existing lesson or create a new one. You can choose any lesson since you won’t make changes to the lesson itself.
  2. Open the sidebar by clicking All Blocks in the blocks shortcut bar or using the insert block icon that appears when you mouse-over a boundary between blocks.
  3. Select the Block Templates category in the sidebar, then hover over the block template you want to delete and click the garbage bin icon that appears. (You can only delete block templates you created. You won’t see an icon for block templates created by other team members.)
  4. Click Delete when you’re prompted to confirm that you want to delete the block template.

Reusing Block Templates

Reusing block templates in your Rise 360 courses is even easier than creating them.

  1. Open a Rise 360 course, then edit an existing lesson or create a new one.
  2. Click All Blocks in the blocks shortcut bar or mouse-over the location in the lesson where you want to insert a block template and click the insert block icon that appears.
  3. When the sidebar opens, select the Block Templates category and click the block template you want to use.

That’s it! The blocks and content from the block template immediately get added to your lesson. And you can edit them if you’d like. Editing the blocks or content after inserting them into your lesson won’t change the block template.

Tips for Finding Block Templates

As your block template library grows, use the searching and sorting features to find the block templates you need.

  • Use the search field to find block templates by name. The block template list will automatically filter as you type.
  • If you have an Articulate 360 Teams subscription, you can use the Author drop-down list to find block templates shared by any member of your team.
  • Use the Sort by drop-down list to sort block templates alphabetically or by date.

FAQs

Do I need an Articulate 360 Teams account to use block templates?

Everyone with an Articulate 360 subscription can use block templates. Teams have the added benefit of sharing block templates with their teams.

Can I share block templates with other teams?

No. You can only share block templates with your team, but you can send a copy of a course to Rise 360 authors who aren’t part of your team.

Can I transfer ownership of block templates to other team members?

You can’t transfer ownership of block templates. However, team members can insert a block template into a lesson, then create a new block template with the same blocks and content. They won’t be able to delete the original block template, but they will own the duplicate block template they created.

What happens to block templates when the owner is no longer part of the team?

When someone leaves your team, their content, including Rise 360 block templates, can be transferred to another member of the team. The new content owner has full control of the previous owner's shared and personal block templates.

When I reuse a block template, will it have the original fonts or the ones in my current course theme?

Block templates always use the theme fonts in the course you’re currently building.

Does text keep its original formatting when I reuse a block template in another course?

Yes. Text retains all its original formatting, such as bold, italics, size, color, bullets, and more.

Can I add new blocks, remove old blocks, or edit content for an existing block template?

You can’t update existing block templates. However, you can insert a block template into a lesson, make adjustments to it, then save it as a new block template.

Can I edit a block template created by another team member?

If you're not a course manager, you can rename, share, and delete only those block templates you created. Admins who have been assigned to a user seat can rename and delete shared block templates for the whole team.