Now you can control how learners interact with videos in Rise courses. Disable forward seeking when you don't want learners to skip ahead. Here's how.
Disable Forward Seeking in Video Lessons
Forward seeking is enabled by default for pre-built video lessons. To disable forward seeking, just uncheck the Allow forward seeking box above your video.
Note that forward seeking can’t be disabled for videos in other pre-built lessons, such as labeled graphics, timelines, or processes.
Disable Forward Seeking in Video Blocks
Forward seeking is enabled by default for video blocks. To disable forward seeking for a video block:
- Mouse-over the video block, then click the Edit button that appears in the upper left corner of the block.
- When the sidebar opens, click the Settings tab.
- Uncheck the Allow forward seeking box.
Note that forward seeking can’t be disabled for videos in other block types, such as accordions, tabs, or knowledge checks.
Require Learners to Watch Videos Before Moving On
When you disable forward seeking, learners can’t fast-forward through videos, but they can skip over videos without watching them. Here’s how to require learners to watch video lessons and video blocks before moving on with the course.
- Disable forward seeking as described above.
- Restrict course navigation or turn off the course sidebar so learners can’t skip lessons.
- Add a continue block after video blocks. Set the Completion Type to require learners to complete the block(s) above the continue block.
Can learners rewind a video when forward seeking is disabled?
Yes. Learners can rewind the portion of the video they already watched, but they can’t move the seekbar forward to skip ahead. (On mobile devices, it may appear that learners can drag the seekbar forward, but the video won't actually skip ahead.)
Can learners fast-forward a video the next time they view it?
In most cases, yes. It depends on where your course is hosted.
- If your course is hosted in an LMS, learners can fast-forward after watching the entire video, even if they close the course and launch it again later.
- If your course is hosted on a web server or you're using the shareable web link, learners can fast-forward after watching the entire video until they close the course. If learners close the course and launch it again later, forward seeking will be disabled again until they watch the entire video once more.