Storyline 360: Customizing or Suppressing the Goodbye.html Page

Article Last Updated

This article applies to:

You may see this message when exiting a course in your learning management system (LMS):

The content has ended. You may close this window.

Some LMSs display this closing page (the goodbye.html page in your published output) to make sure they have time to process learners' results before the browser closes. Learners can simply close the browser when this message appears.

You can customize or suppress the goodbye message. Here's how.

Customizing the Closing Page

You can customize the closing page to complement your branding or content. You'll need to have HTML and/or JavaScript skills.

  1. Close Storyline.
  2. Open the following folder, depending on your versions of Storyline and Windows:
    Storyline 360 version 3.39.21985.0 or later:
    • 32-bit Windows: C:\Program Files\Articulate\360\Storyline\Content\scormdriver_v7
    • 64-bit Windows: C:\Program Files (x86)\Articulate\360\Storyline\Content\scormdriver_v7
    All other versions of Storyline:
    • 32-bit Windows: C:\Program Files\Articulate\360\Storyline\Content\lms
    • 64-bit Windows: C:\Program Files (x86)\Articulate\360\Storyline\Content\lms
  3. Make a backup copy of the goodbye.html file in case you need to restore it later.
  4. Open goodbye.html in a text editor, such as Notepad or Notepad++.
  5. Edit the text, change the colors, add images, or insert JavaScript code (e.g., to add a close button).
  6. Save and close goodbye.html.
  7. Publish your Storyline course again and upload it to your LMS.

Suppressing the Closing Page

We don't recommend suppressing or removing the closing page. Doing so could prevent your LMS from recording learners' results. It's best to customize the closing page, as described above. However, if you need to suppress the closing page, try this method. Please note that this method is unsupported.

  1. Close Storyline.
  2. Browse to the following folder, depending on your versions of Storyline and Windows.
    Storyline 360 version 3.39.21985.0 or later:
    • 32-bit Windows: C:\Program Files\Articulate\360\Storyline\Content\scormdriver_v7
    • 64-bit Windows: C:\Program Files (x86)\Articulate\360\Storyline\Content\scormdriver_v7
    All other versions of Storyline:
    • 32-bit Windows: C:\Program Files\Articulate\360\Storyline\Content\lms
    • 64-bit Windows: C:\Program Files (x86)\Articulate\360\Storyline\Content\lms
  3. If you're using Storyline 360 version 3.39.21985.0 or later, make a backup copy of the scormdriver.js file in case you need to restore it later. If you're using any other version of Storyline, make a backup copy of the Configuration.js file.
  4. Open the scormdriver.js file or the Configuration.js in a text editor, such as Notepad or Notepad++.
  5. Find this line of code: var EXIT_BEHAVIOR = "SCORM_RECOMMENDED";
  6. And change it to: var EXIT_BEHAVIOR = "ALWAYS_CLOSE";
  7. Save and close the file.
  8. Publish your Storyline course again and upload it to your LMS.

Tip: If ALWAYS_CLOSE (in step 6) doesn't work in your LMS, try ALWAYS_CLOSE_TOP.