Storyline 360 and Storyline 3: Let LMS Learners Know When They Lose Their Internet Connection

Article Last Updated

This article applies to:

Storyline progressively downloads content so learners don't have to wait for courses to buffer. This means that learners who lose their internet connection may not know it right away. This could be problematic when you're tracking learners' progress in an LMS since their results can't be saved without an internet connection.

Storyline lets you notify learners when they lose their internet connection. This gives them the opportunity to re-establish their connection so they won't lose their progress. Here’s how to enable this feature in Storyline 360 and Storyline 3 courses.

Requirements

Your LMS must be programmed to send a value of false to LMSCommit requests when a learner's connection is lost.

And currently, this feature only works with Flash output, not HTML5 output. If you're using Storyline 360, you must choose the classic player style and include Flash output when you publish your course.

Instructions

  1. Publish your course for LMS.
  2. When the publish successful dialog appears, click Open.
  3. Open the story_flash.html file in a text editor, such as Notepad.
  4. Find this line of code:
    var g_bWarnOnCommitFail = false;

    And replace it with this code:
    var g_bWarnOnCommitFail = true;
  5. Save and close the story_flash.html file.
  6. Zip your published output and upload it to your LMS.

This feature warns learners that their data can't be committed to the LMS when they lose their internet connection.