Storyline 1: Customizing or Suppressing the Goodbye.html Page

Article Last Updated

This article applies to:

You may see this message when exiting a course in your learning management system (LMS):

The content has ended. You may close this window.

Some LMSs display this closing page (the goodbye.html page in your published output) to make sure they have time to process learners' results before the browser closes. Learners can simply close the browser when this message appears.

You can customize or suppress the goodbye message. Here's how.

Customizing the Closing Page

You can customize the closing page to complement your organization or content. You'll need to have HTML and/or JavaScript skills.

  1. Close Storyline.
  2. Browse to the following folder, depending on your version of Windows:
    • 32-bit Windows: C:\Program Files\Articulate\Articulate Storyline\Content\lms
    • 64-bit Windows: C:\Program Files (x86)\Articulate\Articulate Storyline\Content\lms
  3. Make a backup copy of the goodbye.html file in case you need to restore it later.
  4. Open goodbye.html in a text editor, such as Notepad or Notepad++.
  5. Edit the text, change the colors, add images, or insert JavaScript code (e.g., to add a close button).
  6. Save and close goodbye.html.
  7. Publish your Storyline course again and upload it to your LMS.

Suppressing the Closing Page

We don't recommend suppressing or removing the closing page. Doing so could prevent your LMS from recording learners' results. It's best to customize the closing page instead (described above). However, if you need to suppress the closing page, try this method. Please note that this method is unsupported.

  1. Close Storyline.
  2. Browse to the following folder, depending on your version of Windows:
    • 32-bit Windows: C:\Program Files\Articulate\Articulate Storyline\Content\lms
    • 64-bit Windows: C:\Program Files (x86)\Articulate\Articulate Storyline\Content\lms
  3. Make a backup copy of the Configuration.js file in case you need to restore it later.
  4. Open Configuration.js in a text editor, such as Notepad or Notepad++.
  5. Locate this line of code:

    var EXIT_BEHAVIOR = "SCORM_RECOMMENDED";
  6. Change it to:

    var EXIT_BEHAVIOR = "ALWAYS_CLOSE";
  7. Save and close Configuration.js.
  8. Publish your Storyline course again and upload it to your LMS.

Tip: If ALWAYS_CLOSE (in step 6) doesn't work in your LMS, try ALWAYS_CLOSE_TOP.