Articulate Engage Interaction Copied from One Slide to Another Uses Same Source File

Article Last Updated

This article applies to:

When importing an Articulate Engage interaction into Articulate Storyline, it's important to understand how it's handled:

  • Storyline treats imported Engage interactions as web objects. This means you're viewing a published version of the interaction in a web object container in Storyline.
  • However, the source (*.intr) file for the interaction also gets stored in your Storyline project file in case you need to edit it later.

If you import an Engage interaction into your Storyline project, then copy and paste that interaction to another slide in the same project, both copies of the interaction will use the same underlying source (*.intr) file. As a result:

  • If you use the Edit in Engage option to make changes to one of the Engage interaction slides, then attempt to edit the other Engage slide, you'll find that the changes you made on the first slide are already reflected on the second slide.
  • However, if you use the Edit in Engage option to make changes to only one of the Engage slides, the changes you make will only be reflected on that particular slide when your Storyline project is published. Here's why: The published version of an Engage interaction—the version you actually see in your Storyline course—only gets updated when you click the Edit in Engage button and click Save and Return to Storyline.