Engage Options

Article Last Updated

This article applies to:

Engage ’09 allows you to set application preferences in the Engage Options window.

To open the Engage Options window:

  1. Click the Articulate Button.
  2. Click Engage Options.

Engage Options include the following:

  • Delete Audio: With this option selected, you will be prompted to confirm whenever you choose to delete audio from your interaction.
  • Delete Interaction Item: With this option selected, you will be prompted to confirm whenever you choose to delete an interaction item from your interaction.
  • Overwrite published files: With this option selected, you will be prompted to confirm whenever you publish if you want to overwrite existing published files.
  • Delete Multimedia: With this option selected, you will be prompted to confirm whenever you choose to delete multimedia from your interaction.
  • Flash Player Support: With this option selected, you will be prompted about Flash Player support when adding video to your interaction.
  • Spelling
    • Spelling Options: Set options for how the spell checker reviews text. Restore defaults by clicking on the Restore Defaults button at the bottom of the window. Click OK to accept changes. Click Cancel to close the window without saving any changes to spelling options.
      • Hide spelling errors: Check box to hide spelling errors.
      • Ignore words in UPPERCASE: Leave box checked to ignore words such as ASAP.
      • Ignore words with numbers: Leave box checked to ignore words such as Win95.
      • Ignore Internet and file addresses: Leave box checked to ignore words such as articulate.com.
      • Ignore capitalized words: Check box to ignore words such as Antarctica.
      • Ignore words with mixed case: Check box to ignore words such as UltraMan.
      • Ignore HTML markups: Leave box checked to ignore words such as <Strong></Strong>.
      • Allow accented words: Leave box checked to ignore words such as Être.
      • Report doubled words: Leave box checked to report doubled words such as the the.
      • Suggest split words: Check box to suggest words such as "boy" for "theboy".
      • Phonetic suggestions: Check box to offer phonetic suggestions. This feature is only available in English.
      • Typographical suggestions: Leave box checked to offer suggestions for correct spellings.
      • Casesensitive: Leave box checked to determine words by case patterns.
      • AutoCorrect: Leave box checked to automatically perform spell checks. Click  Options to open the AutoCorrect dictionary. Leave the ’Replace text as you type’ box checked to automatically correct misspellings. Here you can add or remove the words you want automatically replaced. Enter the word you want replaced in the Replace field and the word you want it replaced with in the With field. Click Add to add it to the AutoCorrect dictionary. To remove a word from the AutoCorrect dictionary, either type the word in the Replace field or find the word by scrolling through the AutoCorrect dictionary and clicking on it; click Delete to remove the misspelling from the AutoCorrect dictionary. Click OK to save changes to the AutoCorrect dictionary or Cancel to close the AutoCorrect window without saving changes.
      • Dictionary:
        • Main Dictionary language: Select from the drop-down menu a dictionary to use in spell checks. Available dictionaries include the following:
          • English (Canada)
          • English (U.K.)
          • English (U.S.) (default)
          • French
          • German (Post-reform)
          • German (Pre-reform)
          • Italian
          • Spanish
        • Custom Dictionaries: Click this button to Modify, Change Default, create a New, Add existing (.dic file), or Remove a custom dictionary. Click OK to save changes, or Cancel to close the Custom Dictionaries window without saving changes.
    • AutoCorrect Options: Click to open the AutoCorrect dictionary. See above section on AutoCorrect for more information.
  • Check for updates at startup: Leave the box checked to check for updates at startup, or uncheck to stop updates from being checked at startup.
  • Enable publishing for manual upload to Articulate Online: Click the box to allow a manual upload option in Publish -> Articulate Online. In the Account Information section under Account URL, select from the drop-down menu the option to Publish Locally, then specify the Local Folder whose contents you can then upload to Articulate Online (a .en2 file). Please see Publishing: Articulate Online for more information.