Storyline and Studio: Resume Doesn't Work as Expected After Meeting the Completion Requirement

Article Last Updated

You may find that the resume feature in your Articulate content doesn't work as you'd expect in the following scenario:

  1. You take a course and meet the completion requirement—either by viewing the required number of slides or by passing a quiz.
  2. You exit the course.
  3. You resume the course and pick up where you left off.
  4. You exit the course again on a different slide.
  5. You launch the course again, but it takes you to the slide you were on when you met the tracking requirement and exited the course. Or, it takes you back to the beginning of the course.

Most learning management systems (LMSs) consider a course to be in review mode after meeting the tracking requirement. In review mode, resume data is no longer sent to the LMS, which prevents learners from accidentally changing their course status from complete back to incomplete.

If you need a course to resume after learners have completed it, here are some ways to make that happen.

Adjust the Tracking Method

If you're tracking a course by the number of slides viewed, another option is to adjust the tracking method. Try one of these options:

  • Increase the number of required slides to include all the slides in the course.
  • Add a quiz to the end of the course with a single question, asking learners to confirm they've completed the course, then track the course by the quiz.

Change the Reporting Option

If you're using Completed/Incomplete or Completed/Failed as your reporting option, try changing it to Passed/Incomplete or Passed/Failed.

Modify the Published Output

We don't recommend changing the default behavior of a course. However, you can edit your published output to allow learners to change their completion status, which means the resume feature should work even after they complete the course. Here's how:

  1. Navigate to your published output, and open the lms folder.
  2. Open the Configuration.js file in a text editor, such as Notepad.
  3. Locate the following text:
    • var REVIEW_MODE_IS_READ_ONLY = true;
  4. Change it to:
    • var REVIEW_MODE_IS_READ_ONLY = false;
  5. Save and close the Configuration.js file. (If it doesn't save your change, make sure the file isn't marked Read-only.)
  6. Zip the published output, and upload it to your LMS.