You may find that the resume feature does not work as expected if all the following criteria are true:
- Your presentation is using Restricted navigation.
- You use a hyperlink to navigate to another slide.
- You click the hyperlink before the slide has completed.
- You exit the presentation before the destination slide has completed.
When this issue occurs, you will receive a message that you can only view slides that you have previously viewed (due to the Restricted navigation), and then you will be taken back to the beginning of the presentation.
This is a known issue. You can correct it by using a PowerPoint animation to delay showing the hyperlink(s) until the end of the slide.
As long as users complete the slide where the hyperlink is located or the destination slide, this issue will not occur. By delaying the hyperlinks from displaying until the end of the slide, you will avoid this issue.