Storyline and Studio: Score Doesn't Update When Retaking a Course

Article Last Updated

Most LMSs consider a course to be in review mode when attempting it again after the completion requirement has been met. When in review mode, new data is not reported to the LMS. This prevents learners from accidentally changing their course status from complete back to incomplete.

If you'd like to change this default behavior, it's best to change it in the LMS. However, if you'd prefer to modify your published course instead, do this:

  1. Open the lms folder in your published output.
  2. You'll see either a scormdriver.js file or a Configuration.js file, depending on the authoring app you used and the publishing format you chose. Open the file in a text editor, such as Notepad.
  3. Find this line of text: var REVIEW_MODE_IS_READ_ONLY = true;
  4. And change it to: var REVIEW_MODE_IS_READ_ONLY = false;
  5. Save and close the file. (If it doesn't save your change, make sure the file isn't marked read-only.)
  6. Zip the published output and upload it to your LMS.